It’s a New Year…

Yes, I know we’re already almost a week into 2017, and this blog post might have been better if it was posted, say, last week. But I’ve been really busy, and now I need closure on the year that was 2016, so screw you and your judgemental opinions! Here’s a rundown of my last year. Month. By. Month…

January

In true Demeter style (I’ll try to refer to myself less in the third person this year, promise), I started the year off in a sling. Typical. I also went to Hawaii in January, so it wasn’t all bad…

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 2.05.14 PM.png

February

This month is really just a big blur… I probably just slept through it, to be honest.

March

I had shoulder surgery (again) to hopefully fix my dodgy shoulder for good this time!

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 2.06.13 PM.png

April

I was made redundant (well, look at that – there really is a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow…) and I celebrated my birthday – in a sling. For the second consecutive year.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 2.06.52 PM.png

May

Still slingin’ it…

June

I started working as a freelance journalist, which has been interesting… Not having a steady income has been bad. But finally getting that whole work/life balance thing down has been good.

July

Lots of physiotherapy on my shoulder. And sleep.

August

See July.

September

I announce I’m moving to the USA after qualifying for a Green Card… Shit just got real.

October

This month was really just one big farewell party. Oh, and my sister turned 30, so more parties…

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 2.09.43 PM.png

November

I flew to America with my mum in tow and proceeded to set myself up for a life in sunny California.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 2.10.33 PM.png

December

Turns out California isn’t so sunny after all… Also, it’s cold! Why is it so cold here?! My friend, Cathie flies into LA and spends Christmas and New Years with me. In return, I show her the sights and let her use up all my toilet paper.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 2.11.11 PM.png

I have no idea what 2017 will bring, but so far it’s been interesting… Here’s hoping for a happy new year! xx

Leave a comment